The Blue Hearts – Hito ni Yasashiku (English Lyrics)

Hito ni Yasashiku was first released by The Blue Hearts on the 25th February, 1987. It’s a pump up song that urges the listener to live life honestly and to never give up. Like many of The Blue Hearts’ songs, it begins with a line that hooks the listener’s attention (compare it to Linda Linda‘s “I want to be as beautiful as a sewer rat” or Kubitsuridai kara‘s “I was lost the moment I was born”). The following is my own English interpretation of the lyrics of Hito ni Yasashiku (Be Kind to People).

I love nice songs so much I feel like I’m going insane
Yeah, I wish you’d listen to them too
I’m gonna keep living with the sweat rolling down my brow
Yeah, I’m never gonna change
Whenever I’m singing
I hear this voice coming out of the microphone
Telling me to go for it
I want you to be able to hear it too
Go for it!

Everyone feels like giving up sometimes
Yeah, even me, I’m feeling it right now
You have to shout out the emotions that’re suffocating you
Yeah, look after them and don’t throw them away
Sure, people can’t always be nice to you
But let me tell you something, I’m gonna shout it out loud
Shout out, “Keep trying!”
Can you hear me? Keep trying!

It’s not enough to be kind, people won’t love you for that
Yeah, so I won’t be able to cheer you up
When I speak those words that aren’t what you want to hear
Inside my head is a voice saying not to give up
I want you to hear it too
Don’t give up!

Ki ga kuruisou yasashii uta ga suki de
Aa anata ni mo kikasetaiKono mama boku wa ase o kaite ikiyou
Aah itsumademo kono mama sa
Boku wa itsudemo uta o utau toki wa
Maikurofon no naka kara
Ganbare tte itteiru
Kikoete hoshii anata ni mo
Ganbare!

Hito wa daredemo kujikesou ni naru mono
Aa boku datte ima datte
Sakebanakereba yarikirenai omoi o
Aa taisetsu ni sutenaide
Hito ni yasashiku shite moraenainda ne
Boku ga itte yaru dekkai koe de itte yaru
Ganbare tte itte yaru
Kikoeru kai ganbare!

Yasashisa dake ja hito wa aisenai kara
Aa nagusamete agerarenai
Kitaihazure no kotoba o iu toki ni
Kikoete hoshii anata ni mo
Ganbare!

気が狂いそう やさしい歌が好きで
ああ あなたにも聞かせたい
このまま僕は 汗をかいて生きよう
ああ いつまでもこのままさ
僕はいつでも 歌を歌う時は
マイクロフォンの中から
ガンバレって言っている
聞こえてほしい あなたにも
ガンバレ!

人は誰でも くじけそうになるもの
ああ 僕だって今だって
叫ばなければ やり切れない思いを
ああ 大切に捨てないで
人にやさしく してもらえないだね
僕が言ってやる でっかい声でいってやる
ガンバレって言ってやる
聞こえるかい ガンバレ!

やさしさだけじゃ 人は愛せないから
ああ なぐさめてあげられない
期待はずれの 言葉を言う時に
心の中では ガンバレって言っている
聞こえてほしい あなたにも
ガンバレ!

Leave a comment